3 Idaho Accident Laws You Need to Know
Did you know that Idaho is one of the accident prone state in the union? Yes, Idaho records some of the highest fatalities in the country. On the other hand, the country is often a save heaven for pedestrians, wherein pedestrian fatalities in collisions remain some of the lowest. However, most pedestrian collisions result in significant injuries, and this includes 97% of the cases. If you are looking to call Idaho a home, below are 3 major accident laws you need to know about. If you are in need of immediate assistant, be sure to call a local Boise Idaho auto accident lawyer.
No-fault Insurance State
Idaho is unlike most states that it uses a no-fault mechanism to gauge insurance claims. Idaho’s legal framework is based on comparative negligence, meaning your ability to recover your dues will be based on your relative fault as compared to the other party. In order to navigate the framework, you will need a thorough investigation with detailed analysis of your costs like medical bills, repair bills, expert testimony from the police, and even sometimes speaking to the car manufacturer. Be sure to deploy your car early to get to the bottom of the case, especially if you are dealing with significant damage like with a commercial truck.
Statute of Limitation
Statute of limitation for car accidents in Idaho is two years. This is important to know for people who have sustained serious injuries in car accidents. If you have been involved in a serious accident, you need plenty of time to recover, investigate the case, and get back on your feet to build your legal defense. Be sure to let an attorney know you early. Established attorneys usually do not charge any fees until you receive a settlement. Hence, if you inform them early, they can help you investigate the case.
Many states require their residents to purchase a Personal Protection Insurance. These insurance can protect you and the other party during collisions from major damages. However, Idaho does not require residents to purchase it. Instead, you will pay for it through set mandates like 25/50/15. These include $25000 for bodily harm, $50,000 for accident, and $15000 in property damage. You can also sign a form to waver coverage for the uninsured or underinsured motorist. While this is not ideal, just know, you are not mandated to purchase a PIP in Idaho.